VMware Certified Design Expert 5 - Data Center Virtualization (VCDX5-DCV)

VMware Certified Design Expert (VCDX) is the highest level of VMware certification. This elite group is comprised of design architects highly-skilled in VMware enterprise deployments and the program is designed for veteran professionals who want to validate and demonstrate their expertise in VMware technology. VCDX5-DCV certification is achieved through the unique design defense process, where all candidates must submit and successfully defend a production-ready VMware Solution before a panel of veteran VCDX-DCV holders. This process ensures that those who achieve VCDX status are peer-vetted and ready to join an elite group of world-class consulting architects.

VCDX5-DCV Benefits

  • Recognition of your technical knowledge and skills
  • Official transcripts
  • Use of VMware Certified Design Expert logo
  • Access to the exclusive VCDX portal & logo merchandise store
  • Invitation to beta exams and classes
  • Discounts from VMware Press
  • Discounted admission to VMware events
  • VCDX logo wear
  • Press release support
  • Bio featured in the VCDX Directory
  • Greater opportunities for career advancement


Upgrade from VCDX4-DCV

If you already hold VCDX4-DCV certification, you can upgrade to VCDX5-DCV certification without redoing the Design Defense process.

  • 1. Be a current VCDX4-DCV holder in good standing
  • 2. Pass the VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 - Data Center Design (VCAP5-DCD) exam

Become a VCDX5-DCV

  • 1. Hold VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 - Data Center Administration (VCAP5-DCA) and VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 - Data Center Design (VCAP5-DCD) Certification
  • 2. Submit a VCDX5-DCV Application that is accepted
  • 3. Successfully present and defend a VMware vSphere based virtual infrastructure design and implementation plan (see defense dates below)